Residential real estate in Europe: investors see potential in Berlin

Langenhagen, 15 August 2019  |  News

The European residential investment market performed well in 2018. Overall, the transaction volume in European cities grew by 40 percent compared to the previous year. One third of the capital invested in Europe was attributable to Germany. The first place in European city ranking is taken by Berlin.

According to Jones Lang LaSalle (JLL), 56 billion euros was invested in Europe’s residential investment markets in 2018, an increase of 40 percent compared to 2017. Investors were particularly attracted by the top 20 major cities in Europe. A good 20.4 billion euros, or a good 35 percent of all investments, flowed into Europe’s major cities. With a transaction volume of 3.11 billion euros, Berlin was able to assert itself as the strongest location. With respectable distance follows Copenhagen in second place. 2.43 billion euros were invested in the Danish capital.

Investors focus on Germany

Not only Berlin, but also Frankfurt (5th place), Hamburg (8th place), Dusseldorf (12th place) and Munich (13th place) were among the investors’ European top 20. Although Great Britain could even place six cities in the top 20, Great Britain cannot compete with investments in Germany. One third of the capital invested in residential real estate was placed in German cities (+ 38% to 18.6 billion euros). The invested sums of the two following countries Great Britain (+150% to 6.7 billion euros) and the Netherlands (+35% to 5.6 billion euros) were much lower.

According to JLL, Germany benefits above all from the federal structure with several major cities and numerous industrial locations. Spain and France each placed two locations, Denmark, Austria, Ireland and the Netherlands placed one location each in the top 20 European cities.

Increasing investments from abroad

The main reasons for the positive financial outcome in 2018 were the activities of foreign investors in the European residential investment market. JLL also expects a positive development in the long term due to current socio-economic developments – such as decreasing household sizes and increasing urbanisation. “The sector’s performance as a defensive investment will attract even more attention from investors looking for stable cash flow and diversification benefits, given technology-driven disruptive trends in, for example, the retail and office sectors,” said Jones Lang LaSalle.

Forecasts for the investment market

Especially due to the low yield correlation and the many attractive opportunities for project developers, the interest in European residential investments will hardly decline in the coming years. “But investors have also become more active in the wider living spectrum. Long-term demographic data support the development of these sub-sectors. They enable investors to capture a wide variety of age profiles. Student residences, care homes or co-living solutions offer institutional investors a broad range of investment opportunities with different risk-return profiles. Not only high current yields play a role, but also a lower regulation and thus a higher potential for rental growth in the short term. This is partly the result of shorter rental periods, often less than a year. Demand for these products will increase significantly in the short term,” predicts JLL.

Langenhagen, 15 August 2019  |  News
go back
GREAT_Logo_Bildmarke_web

© Copyright 2018-2020 German Real Estate Asset Trust GmbH

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. more information

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.

Close

Wohnimmobilien in Europa: Investoren setzen auf Berlin

Langenhagen, 15. August 2019  |  News

Auch 2018 schneidet der europäische Wohninvestmentmarkt gut ab. Insgesamt wuchs das Transaktionsvolumen in europäischen Städten gegenüber dem Vorjahr um 40 Prozent. Ein Drittel des in Europa investierten Kapitals entfiel dabei auf Deutschland. Den ersten Platz im europäischen Städteranking belegt dabei Berlin.

Laut Jones Lang LaSalle (JLL) wurden im Jahr 2018 56 Milliarden Euro in Europas Wohninvestmentmärkte investiert, ein Zuwachs von 40 Prozent im Vergleich zu 2017. Vor allem die Top 20 Metropolen in Europa lockten die Investoren. Gut 20,4 Milliarden Euro, und damit gut 35 Prozent aller Investments, flossen in Europas Metropolen. Mit einem Transaktionsvolumen von 3,11 Milliarden Euro konnte sich Berlin als stärkster Standort behaupten. Mit gehörigem Abstand folgt Kopenhagen auf Platz Zwei. In die dänische Hauptstadt wurden immerhin noch 2,43 Milliarden Euro investiert.

Deutschland im Fokus der Investoren

Nicht nur Berlin, auch Frankfurt am Main (Platz 5), Hamburg (Platz 8), Düsseldorf (Platz 12) und München (Platz 13) fanden sich in den europäischen Top 20 der Investoren. Obwohl Großbritannien sogar sechs Städte in den 20 Top Locations platzieren konnte, kann Großbritannien nicht mit den Investments in Deutschland mithalten. Ein Drittel des Kapitals, das in Wohnimmobilien investiert wurde, wurde in deutschen Städten platziert (+38 % auf 18,6 Mrd. Euro). Die investierten Summen der beiden nächstplatzierten Staaten Großbritannien (+150 % auf 6,7 Mrd. Euro) und Niederlande (+35 % auf 5,6 Mrd. Euro) fielen weitaus geringer aus.

Laut JLL kommt Deutschland vor allem die föderale Struktur mit mehreren Großstädten und zahlreichen Industriestandorten zugute. Spanien und Frankreich konnten jeweils zwei Standorte, Dänemark, Österreich, Irland und die Niederlande jeweils einen Standort unter den zwanzig europäischen Top Metropolen platzieren.

Steigende Investments aus dem Ausland

Grundlegend für das erfreuliche Geschäftsjahr 2018 waren vor allem die Aktivitäten ausländischer Investoren im europäischen Wohninvestmentmarkt. Auch langfristig geht JLL aufgrund der aktuellen sozio-ökonomischen Entwicklungen – wie sinkenden Haushaltsgrößen und einer zunehmenden Verstädterung – von einer positiven Entwicklung aus. „Die Performance des Sektors als defensive Investmentanlage dürfte bei Anlegern, die nach stabilen Cashflow- und Diversifizierungsvorteilen suchen, noch größere Aufmerksamkeit auf sich ziehen, dies auch angesichts der technologiebedingten disruptiven Tendenzen beispielsweise im Einzelhandels- und Bürosektor“, heißt es von Jones Lang LaSalle.

Prognosen für den Investmentmarkt

Vor allem aufgrund der niedrigen Renditekorrelation sowie der vielen attraktiven Möglichkeiten für Projektentwickler wird das Interesse an europäischen Wohninvestments in den nächsten Jahren kaum sinken. „Investoren sind aber auch im breiteren Living-Spektrum aktiver geworden. Langfristige demografische Daten unterstützen die Entwicklung dieser Teilsektoren. Sie ermöglichen es Anlegern, unterschiedlichste Altersprofile zu erfassen. Studentenwohnheime, Senioren-/Pflegeimmobilien oder Co-Living bieten institutionellen Anlegern eine breite Palette von Investitionsmöglichkeiten mit unterschiedlichen Risiko-Rendite-Profilen. Dabei spielt nicht nur eine höhere laufende Rendite eine Rolle, sondern auch eine geringere Regulierung und damit ein kurzfristig höheres Potential für ein Mietwachstum. Dies ist teilweise ein Ergebnis verkürzter Mietlaufzeiten von oft weniger als einem Jahr. Die Nachfrage nach diesen Produkten wird kurzfristig deutlich steigen“, prognostiziert JLL.

Langenhagen, 15. August 2019  |  News
zurück
GREAT_Logo_Bildmarke_web

© Copyright 2018-2020 German Real Estate Asset Trust GmbH

Durch die weitere Nutzung der Seite stimmen Sie der Verwendung von Cookies zu. Weitere Informationen

Die Cookie-Einstellungen auf dieser Website sind auf "Cookies zulassen" eingestellt, um das beste Surferlebnis zu ermöglichen. Wenn du diese Website ohne Änderung der Cookie-Einstellungen verwendest oder auf "Akzeptieren" klickst, erklärst du sich damit einverstanden.

Schließen